People who are involved in auto accidents are frequently advised not to rush to settle their cases. This is because it can take a time to discover injuries and calculate the cost of damages. Settling too soon with the liable party could result in getting less than what is owed. However, an accident victim shouldn’t wait too long to hire an Accident Lawyer in Albuquerque NM law office and file a lawsuit, because New Mexico law limits the amount of time a person has to sue for compensation. Here’s what plaintiffs should know about this.
Statute of Limitations for Lawsuits
The statute of limitations is a legal rule that states lawsuits must be filed within a certain period of time. If plaintiffs miss the deadline, they are barred from ever pursuing compensation for damages for that particular case.
Different types of cases have different deadlines. For example, accident victims have 3 years from the date of the accident to file a personal injury lawsuit in the state. However, people have 4 years to sue for property damage.
Special Rules for Suing the Government
The government, and by extension government entities such as law enforcement, has special rules people must follow if they want to sue it for damages. Specifically, people must adhere to the provisions in the New Mexico Tort Claims Act that state civilians have to first file a claim with the Risk Management Division within 90 days of the incident.
Plaintiffs must then wait for the government to respond to the claim. If the agency fails to respond within a reasonable amount of time or at all, the person can then file a suit in civil court. However, he or she only has two years from the date of the incident to do it.
Although it can take time to gather evidence and document injuries, accident victims should hire an Accident Lawyer Albuquerque NM legal office such as The Carter & Valle Law Firm in Albuquerque NM and launch a lawsuit as soon as they’re ready and avoid losing their chance to collect damages. To contact a lawyer who can help, visit the website.