In Vermont, driving under the influence is a serious offense that could lead to an accident with a fatality. For this reason, the state has imposed stricter penalties for convicted drivers. The state also has a zero tolerance law for underage drivers. DUI lawyers in Vermont can build an adequate defense for drivers who are charged with this offense.
What Could Happen with an Aggravated DUI?
Drivers with a blood-alcohol content reading of at least 0.15% are guilty of an aggravated DUI. In the state of Vermont, any driver that is convicted will lose their driver’s license indefinitely, and the state could seize their vehicle. If the driver causes an accident, they could face a more extensive prison sentence.
What Is Implied Consent?
Implied consent is provided whenever a driver decides to drive while intoxicated. The ruling gives law enforcement officers the right to demand chemical consent for any driver that is suspected of a DUI. However, despite the implied consent ruling, the driver still has the right to request an attorney after they are arrested. The ruling doesn’t give law enforcement officers the right to use physical force to make drivers submit to testing.
What Are the Penalties for a DUI?
The first conviction starts with a one or two-year prison sentence, a 90-day driver’s license suspension, and a fine of $750. A second conviction incurs a two-year prison sentence, a fine of $1,500, and a maximum driver’s license suspension of eighteen months. The third conviction presents a maximum of five years in prison, a fine of $2,500, and a life-long revocation of their driver’s license. Any additional convictions lead to a prison sentence of ten years, a fine of $5,000, and additional penalties for driving without a license.
In some cases, drivers are required to complete a drug or alcohol treatment program. They must also install an ignition interlocking device into their vehicle based on the judge’s instructions.
In Vermont, drivers-under-the-influence charges lead to more severe penalties. The state presents higher than average fines and permanent driver’s license suspensions. Defendants who need legal help from DUI lawyers in Vermont can contact us right now.