If a person should happen to get stopped on a charge of driving drunk, he or she should make every effort to ensure the charges do not stick. In order to get a better chance at getting cleared of the charges, the person had better be abreast of the laws concerning driving drunk in the state the incident occurs in. A DUI Attorney in Twin Falls ID helps clients who are caught up in drunk driving charges and helps them to get the best possible deal. Here are some of the things clients should understand about drunk driving charges in Idaho.
DUI Charges in Idaho
As in all states, drunk driving charges are calculated by how much alcohol is found in the driver’s blood, but sometimes the charge can simply be based on a law enforcement official’s observation of the driver’s driving. In Idaho, the same BAC rule applies, that is that if the driver is over 21 and the blood alcohol content level is at least .08 percent, he or she is considered drunk. If the driver is under 21, the blood alcohol content level is .02 percent.
More about DUI Charges in Idaho
There will be administrative penalties as well as criminal penalties when facing being convicted of drunk driving, such as having to apply for an administrative hearing within 7 days after the arrest. For a first offense, the penalties can be quite severe, for example, 6 months in jail and a fine of $1,000. The driver’s license can be suspended for up to 180 days and a supervised probation of up to two years. To avoid this, the client should take advantage of an experienced attorney in the area.
A Law Office That Can Help
The Gariepy Law Offices have been providing drunk driving solutions for clients in the Twin Falls, Idaho area for more than 30 years. The sooner clients call on the law offices, the sooner a profile can be built on the client to help him, or her get a fair chance in court. If any are looking for a DUI Attorney in Twin Falls ID, the law offices are available. Find more information by visiting the website at www.gariepylawoffices.com.